ANITA2017 and Astroinformatics school: registrations now open

The 11th Australian National Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (ANITA) annual theory workshop and astroinformatics school will be held on:

6th-10th February 2017, University of Tasmania, Hobart

The ANITA workshop will run Thu-Fri 9th-10th Feb, covering all aspects of theoretical and computational astrophysics

The Astroinformatics summer school will be held Mon-Wed 6th-8th Feb, covering:

• A whole day of Python! Including introduction, numpy, scipy, plotting and interactive python notebooks
• Introduction to sql databases and mysql
• Usage of git, github and source control
• Introduction to cloud computing, deep learning, high performance computing using MPI and GPUs
• Visualisation techniques

Registration is free*

*a $250 registration fee is requested from non-students wishing to attend the school to help cover costs

ANITA Workshop and Summer School 2014

Dear ANITA and ASA members.

We would like to invite you to attend the 8th Workshop of the Australian National Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (ANITA), to be held on the 17th and 18th of February 2014, followed by the N-body Summer School from the 19th to 21st of February 2014. Both events will be hosted by the Sydney Institute for Astronomy (SIfA) at the University of Sydney.

Please follow the link below to learn more about the Workshop/School and to register:

There is no registration fee for either the Workshop or School. This is thanks to the kind contributions from the following sponsors:

  • Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA)
  • Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO)
  • International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR)
  • Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO)
  • Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing (CAS), Swinburne
  • University of Melbourne
  • Macquarie University
  • University of Sydney

We look forward to seeing you in Sydney in 2014.

ANITA Steering Committee: Jarrod Hurley, Darren Croton, Sarah Maddison, Orsola De Marco, Chris Power, Alan Duffy, Cathryn Trott & Camila Correa.

2014 Organising Committee: Geraint Lewis, Krzysztof Bolejko, Orsola De Marco, Chris Power & Weiguang Cui.


Australian Astronomer Awarded 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics

ANITA wishes to congratulate Brain P. Schmidt for being one of the three cosmologists awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe. In addition to his scientific exploits, Brian has worked tirelessly for broader Australian Astronomy community since moving to ANU over a decade and a half ago. He is a strong supporter of theoretical and numerical astrophysics. We look forward to his continued involvement in the years to come.